The 15 most anticipated books of 2020

As the new year (and decade) begins, there are so many things to get excited about. But the anticipation of new books being released tops them all.

Here is a list of 15 books that I’m excited to read this year:

1. The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins.

Release date: 19 May 2020

About: This book is set 64 years before the original Hunger Games series and will take readers back to the world of Panem. It will start on the morning of the 10th Hunger Games.

2. A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer.

Release date: 7 January 2020

About: This is the second book in the fantasy series and is a modern retelling of Beauty and The Beast. I don’t want to go too much into this one as it will spoil the ending of the first book, A Curse So Dark And Lonely.

3. The Switch by Beth O’Leary

Release date: 30 April 2020

About: This follows 79-year-old Eileen and 20-something Leena who switch lives after becoming fed up of their own.

4. The Other Mrs by Mary Kubica

Release date: 18 February 2020

About: After moving to a new neighbourhood, Sadie and Will Foust discover that their neighbour has been murdered and all eyes are on them. This is apparently the perfect book for fans of You by Caroline Kepnes.

5. American Dirt by Jeanine Cummins

Release date: 21 January 2020

About: Lydia and her family are forced to flee the Mexican city of Acapulco after her journalist husband writes a tell-all about a drug cartel that has taken over the city. This book is claimed to be The Grapes of Wrath of this generation.

6. All You Twisted Secrets by Diana Urban

Release date: 17 March 2020

About: A member from every clique at school are invited to a scholarship dinner, only to discover that there is a bomb and a syringe filled with poison and they have to choose who to kill. If they don’t, everyone dies. This sounds perfect for fans of Karen McManus’ books.

7. The Paper and Hearts Society: Read With Pride by Lucy Powrie

Release date: 12 May 2020

About: This is the second instalment in the popular series by Powrie. This one is narrated by Olivia, who finds herself under a lot of stress after she accidentally starts a secret underground book club for LGBTQ+ students.

8. Anna K: A Love Story by Jenny Lee

Release date: 3 March 2020

About: Anna is at the top of Manhattan society and has the perfect life. Even her family are proud of her. But when she meets Alexia, a notorious playboy who bounces around boarding schools, she has to decide how much of her life she wants to give up in order to be with him.

9. Tweet Cute by Emma Lord

Release date: 21 January 2020

About: Pepper and Jack are in a constant Twitter war but they are yet to realise they are building a romantic relationship and maybe even falling in love in real life on an anonymous chat app that Jack built.

10. Long Bright River by Liz Moore

Release date: 7 January 2020

About: Two sisters lead completely different lives in this novel, which touches on the opioid crisis in Philadelphia. Kacey lives on the streets, battling her drug addiction, while her sister Mickey walks the block as a police officer. A string of murders begins in the area and Kacey goes missing, can Mickey find her before it’s too late?

11. In Case You Missed It by Lindsey Kelk

Release date: 9 July 2020

About: After four years away, Ros is ready to have her old life back. But when she steps off the plane nothing is as she remembers and she begins to miss the way things used to be before she left. Then her phone starts to receive messages from people she hasn’t seen in years, including her ex.

12. The Other People by C J Tudor

Release date: 23 January 2020

About: Gabriel is haunted by the image of his missing daughter and spends a lot of time searching for her, even though most people believe she is dead.

Fran knows the truth and is running away. She knows who is responsible and she knows what they will do to her if she ever tells the truth.

13. One Of Us Is Next by Karen M. McManus

Release date: 7 January 2020

About: One year after the events at BayHigh View (which took place in the first novel in the series One Of Us Is Lying), there seems to be a new sinister game being played – truth or dare. The students try to find out who is behind the game before someone gets hurt or dead.

14. Heartstopper Volume 3 by Alice Oseman

Release date: 6 February 2020

About: This is the third instalment in Oseman’s graphic novel series and looks more closely at Nick’s story after coming out to his mother. He has an older brother, his other friends and family to tell, as well as a school trip to Paris to go on. I can’t wait to see more of Nick and Charlie’s relationship blossom.

15. The Better Liar by Tanen Jones

Release date: 14 January 2020

About: Estranged sisters, Leslie and Robin are forced back together to claim the inheritance their father left them. But when Leslie turns up at Robin’s apartment she finds her body instead. She can’t get the money she so desperately needs without Robin so she asks aspiring actress, Mary to pretend to be her sister by offering her a lot of money. But secrets of the three girls begin to unravel as the story unfolds.

Happy New Year!

What books are you excited to read this year? Let us know by commenting below or Tweet @bookwormgirl_24!

6 thoughts on “The 15 most anticipated books of 2020

  1. These are some great books! I really need to read A Curse So Dark and Lonely before the new one comes out! Iโ€™ve also been meaning to read the Heartstopper books because they look really good!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was pleasantly surprised by A Curse So Dark and Lonely. Was a really good read. I hope you enjoy it! Yes definitely read the the Heartstopper books! Theyโ€™re a fast read too so great to add to any goodreads target or prompts for a reading challenge!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, Heartstopper is one of my favourites ๐Ÿ˜Š I actually wasnโ€™t a huge fan of the first in the series by Maureen Johnson. Maybe Iโ€™ll try the second to see if I like it better. The Hand on the Wall is the third book is it?

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s