The ultimate recommendations book tag

I saw this tag on Kristen’s blog, Kristen Kraves Books, and I thought it would be a fun tag to get back into blogging and a great way to recommend some of my favourite books.

A book from one of your favourite genres

As much as I love a good thriller, I think contemporary books are my favourite. A recent contemporary book that I loved was Rachel’s Holiday by Marian Keyes. Having never read one of her books before, I didn’t know what to expect. But it was brilliant. It was interesting to read about addiction, which is clearly quite a dark topic, written with a touch of humour. It was a heartwarming and engrossing story.

A short book

For this one I’m going to pick a recent short book that I read called Open Water by Caleb Azumah Nelson. It’s a beautifully written love story about two people trying to find their own path in their artistic careers while also dealing with racial issues.

A book-to-screen adaption

There are a lot of adaptions that I have loved but one that always stands out the most to me is Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck. I think it’s just as heart rendering as the book.

A book outside of your comfort zone

I’m not a big fan of horror books but I really enjoyed Bird Box by Josh Malerman. I was intrigued by the film when the trailer came out but couldn’t watch it as I hate watching anything gory so I read it instead and was pleasantly surprised.

A book series

A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson is one of my favourite series. It’s a young adult crime novel but some of the themes, especially in the third book are pretty dark. It’s one of the most gripping thrillers I have read in a long time. The fact it is written in multimedia format kept me hooked throughout as well. My reviews can be read here: Good Girl’s Guide to Murder (Book 1), Good Girl, Bad Blood (Book 2), As Good as Dead (Book 3).

A standalone

I love a good rom-com so for this one I’m going to choose A Girl Like You by Gemma Burgess. It’s a hilarious book about a woman who decides to start dating like a man after taking advice from her flatmate. This is a great book for fans of Christina Lauren, Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk.

A book you don’t talk about enough

I’m still not over The Appeal by Janice Hallett. It was a masterpiece from start to end. It’s written entirely in email format, text messages and documents with the aim of uncovering who was behind the crime that hit the town. I don’t want to say too much in case I spoil it because it’s best to go into it without knowing much. You can read a non-spoiler review here.

Your “staple” book

At the moment I’m always recommending books by Taylor Jenkins Reid to everyone. So for this category I’m going to pick Daisy Jones and the Six as I’m eager to reread it before the TV show comes out. It’s a fantastic book and one of those you can revisit over and over again. It is written in an interview format and focusses on why this hugely successful, fictional band broke up. You’ll finish this book thinking the band really did exist but unfortunately it didn’t. A non- spoiler review can be read here.

Books that got you into reading

I started reading at a very young age but some of the ones that kept me reading throughout my childhood were the Jacqueline Wilson books. The Suitcase Kid, Double Act and Best Friends were just some of the ones I would reread over and over again.


Have you read any of the books I’ve recommended? Let me know by commenting below.

I’m also on Instagram and Twitter – @bookwormgirl_24

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s